Sleepy

The Cutester just keeps getting cuter. (Could you possibly mentally photoshop out the dried snot as you gaze at this photo? Thanks, that’ll save me the effort.)

Here are some of her cheeky ways:

She loves beds. If she sees one she’ll get into it, pull the duvet up to her chin, and lie there sucking her thumb and twiddling her hair. She is particularly fond of babyfather’s side of the bed. When she is not actually in it she is bringing it little offerings and secreting them under the covers.

She loves twiddling hair. She prefers to twiddle the hair of the person holding her. If it’s babyfather she resorts to stroking.

She has what’s known as character. ‘I like kids with character,’ another parent told me at church last Sunday. ‘Your daughter’s got it in spades.’ Pause, adopts finger-waggling old codger persona: ‘You’ll have trouble with that one!’ She certainly does not lack the assertiveness to say no. Another child made a move towards her doll’s buggy the other day. The Cutester stood perfectly still and let rip with an ear-splitting banshee shriek. The other child did a u-turn without changing expression and picked on someone else. Remember Queenie from Blackadder?

She is speaking. At this stage of the Redster’s life I had of course lovingly blogged several lists of vocabulary attained so far. It’s long past the stage where I can count with the Cutester. For instance, baby – story – book – juice – shoes – horsey – baa – ow (meaning wolf, or German Shepherd) – moo – spoon – Marmite – I Want Dis – more – Mummy, Daddy, Redster, the 2nd half of the lodger’s name – and my favourite, Na Na, which covers any grandparent or indeed any friendly person over the age of 60. No, my favourite is ‘Ello.’ She can say this with a whole range of intonations depending on the situation. Once we were sitting side by side doing something together and she suddenly turned to me and said a quiet ‘Ello’ in her friendliest voice and gave me a little wave.

Penguins. Our book from the library shows a picture of adult penguins huddled round the chicks to keep them warm. When she saw this she pointed to her arms, which were bare, and said ‘Cold’, then walked across the table to give me a hug. Now I only have to say ‘What do mummy and baby penguins do?’ and she throws her arms around my neck.

