Babe: 2 years and 11 months outside
Babeling: 6 months inside

For ages, I have been meaning to write a post in praise of the babe’s sleeping habits. I had a feeling, though, that I might not get round to it before it all went horribly wrong. The last three nights have gone mildly awry, so I’ll quickly blog my gratitude for a child who really knows how to give her parents a break before it gets any worse.

This miraculous child goes down at about 7.30pm. More often than not there is instant, complete silence from her room, even when we remember to switch on the baby monitor. At other times she might do a charming rendition of Baa Baa Black Sheep, especially if we’ve got friends over, before lapsing into sleep. We can make as much noise as we like, and she will not wake up and demand to come downstairs and join in. If she does twig that seven or eight people from church have come over for housegroup, she will politely enquire ‘Who’s that downstairs?’ the next morning.

She will remain in log-like sleep until 7.30 or 8.00am, except on some Saturdays when she doesn’t bother to bellow ‘MUMMAY’ until 9am. Despite all this sleep she still fits in a nap of one and a half to two hours every afternoon. (I think this literally saved my life in the early months of the babeling.)

I know, I know, I really am grateful, and I do think of parents whose children believe that morning has broken at 5.30am and nothing can persuade them otherwise. It must be the grace of God, who is being merciful to those of whose of us who can’t function without sleep, at least not without hating the world and everyone in it.

So these last few nights have been ominous – we’ve had friends staying and she’s refused to sleep until 9.30pm, but she’s still all refreshed and ready to go between 6.30 and 7.00 in the morning. We might have to drop the afternoon nap. But then my life will be over.

